Homeless cancer survivor in need

Native San Diegan of 25 years… just prior to going to Prescott, AZ, in September, 2010, I visited my Gynecologist at Sharp Grossmont due to a questionable growth. After an examination, I was told it was just an extra piece of skin and I had “nothing to worry about”.
At the end of January, 2011, in Prescott, AZ, during a gynecological visit, an ulcerated lesion was discovered and an emergency biopsy was performed. A week later, I was diagnosed with Stage III Vulvar Squamous Cell Carcinoma which had metastasized to my lymph nodes. I was referred to Arizona Oncology in Scottsdale, AZ and it was decided that due to the location of my tumor, the alternative to surgery would be an aggressive treatment plan of daily radiation and weekly chemotherapy. I was referred to Northern Arizona Tumor Institute in Prescott, AZ and began treatment in early February, 2011.
On August 16, 2011, my PETscan showed no sign of my tumor, and thankfully was determined I was Cancer free.
In December, 2011, I was referred to San Diego Center for Gynecological Oncology in San Marcos, CA for a follow up examination and again in early June, 2012… both still Cancer free.
My recent PETscan in mid November, 2012 also showed no sign of malignancy and I am still Cancer free.
In early December, 2012, I relocated back to San Diego. My next scheduled appointment is early February, 2013.
I receive Disability which covers my basic living expenses.
I have posted several ads in Craigslist looking for a room and able to afford roughly $300/per month and/or in exchange for cooking, cleaning, daycare, care giving, errands, office work, etc., as well as a post for Spic n Span cleaning services.

To date, I have been unable to secure housing and employment and have depleted my cashflow with motels, gas, food, etc., and ashamed to say, am currently living in my car.
I have contacted 211 and to no avail, reached out to several resources, namely; Catholic Charities, San Diego Mission, Crisis House, Recuperative Care, Nice Guys and American Cancer Society. But because I am Cancer free, resources are not available to me. Rock Cancer Care is the ONLY resource that returned my call.
My most immediate need would be housing, if available; motel vouchers. gasoline card, financial assistance.
Once I am able to secure housing, and joining a support group and/or one-on-one counseling, I can begin my journey to become whole again, regain my confidence, and motivated to make my way back into the workforce, as well as make my contribution and give back.
I have to say, although this was very heart wrenching for me reliving the timeline of my journey… oddly, it is very humbling and quite therapeutic.
I can’t begin to tell you how grateful I am to you and Pamela. I am truly Blessed and look forward to hearing from you.
Thank you!

Categories: Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

