Phil Palmer, RCC Volunteer

Rock Cancer Care Volunteer PhilIn the month of July, 2009, I heard news that took me to my knees. I heard the words, “Phil, dad has cancer.” I could not believe this could happen to the man I believed to be Superman. I thought to myself, this can’t be, there must be a mistake, he needs a second opinion. Well, it was true and my dad was diagnosed with an advanced stage of bladder cancer.

My name is Philip Palmer and I am a volunteer for Rock Cancer C.AR.E. This the story of why I volunteer for this INCREDIBLE organization. When my dad, Nehemiah Palmer was diagnosed with cancer, my family didn’t know what to do because no one in our family ever had cancer before. We had no support group to lean on or to ask questions to. My dad, who as 85 years old at the time of his diagnosis, was barely ever sick. He knew nothing about the healthcare system or what to do going forward. So in August of 2009, I decided to quit my two jobs in Atlanta, Ga., and relocate to Orlando, Fl., to be with my father.

After months and months of hospital emergencies, blood transfusions, nursing homes, radiation treatments and chemotherapy, we came to a crossroad. Dad was losing his battle. After much prayer and Dad being in so much pain, the agonizing decision to put him into hospice care was made. On August 12th, 2010 at 12:20 pm, my father peacefully went home to be with his Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. I was by his side when he passed away.

I knew that the experience I gained from being my father’s primary care taker wasn’t just for me, but that God could use the pain and joy that I experienced by being by his side through the final moments of his life to help others going through the same thing. This is why I joined Rock Cancer C.A.R.E., and it has been a life changing experience for me.

I get the honor of visiting our cancer warriors in the hospital and praying for them if they like. I get the joy of calling and encouraging them throughout the week. I find out what their needs are and then give that information to our leaders who are able to meet most of their needs. In our weekly support group, I get to hear the pain and frustration that some of our warriors go through with treatment and diagnosis. I also get to listen to testimonies of God’s miraculous healing power as well.

Finally, the most important reason why I volunteer for Rock Cancer C.A.R.E., is because as an organization, we make an extremely important positive impact in the lives of cancer patients, their families and their care takers when they need it the most. We simply make a difference to those we touch on this earth and for eternity.

Philip Palmer
Volunteer since February 2011
Visit patients at hospital, Call patients weekly to check on them, Assist at Support Group

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: CARE, Volunteer Stories

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

